Copyright Daves Drivers 2007-2018

Facebook Share

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Monitor Setup
So I have been using a dual monitor setup for a few years now. I do quite a bit of multi tasking and the extra work space is always nice.
I'm looking to upgrade my setup, I've been looking at maybe getting a single 34"ultra wide(3440x1440) since it would be the closest to my current setup that I'm familiar with, which is 2 1080p monitors.

Any opinions on them that have personal experience with using them on a daily basis?
My other option besides an ultra wide would probably be a 4k 28-32" monitor.
I have monitors that size and above in the station and two brands stand out the most and that is
Samsung and LG both give a outstanding picture but it comes down to two things

your video card and your budget.

the higher the screen res the more work your video card has to do so check what Is the max your
card can do and then look for a monitor.

nice idea of 4K but have you seen the price of those ?
and again it comes down to your video card and if it can output 4k at reasonable speeds.

like you I do have dual monitors 2 x 24" I need that space when I have charts all over the screen but I also have a three way sli set up that can cope with doing that.
but even if i wanted to upgrade to 4K i would have to change my video cards which would be a shame really
as i have three good cards.

one thing i would advise you on and that is the ports, forget hdmi and go for the display port option you get a much better picture at very high res if you use that port.
i believe my card can do 4k its an r9 390, its a pretty decent card, it can do pretty much everything I need it to do with ease, but i plan on upgrading it soon. Not sure if ill go with the 1080ti whenever it releases or wait on amds next big card like the rx 490 or the fury x equivalent.

oddly enough I mostly just go for LG monitors, since they seem to be pretty nice at color reproduction.